In this post, we are going to discuss the different ways on how you can delete messages from your Instagram inbox. We understand that you have your own reasons for wanting to delete a particular conversation or thread in your IG account. Maybe, you just want to get rid of an inactive thread – or maybe just want to clear up your inbox. Whatever the reason may be, we’ve got you covered in this post.
We will also tell you how you can unsend a message. Yes, if you change your mind about sending something in Instagram Direct Message, you can delete that message and it will be as if you didn’t send anything.
How to Delete an Entire Instagram Message
Here are the steps to deleting an IG message from your inbox:
- Click on the airplane icon located at the top right portion of your feed. If there are unread messages, you will see a number inside a pink circle.
- Open your IG messages and find the particular message that you want to delete.
- Open the message and swipe left if you’re using an iPhone. Click and long press on the message if you’re using an Android.
- The option to Delete will pop up – click on that.
- The above procedure will only delete the conversation on your end. You will no longer see the particular message in your inbox.
- If other people are included in the message, it will still appear in their inbox.
How to Unsend a Message
- Open your Instagram account.
- Go to your inbox by clicking on the airplane icon.
- Open the conversation with the particular message that you want to unsend.
- Click and long press on the portion of the message that you want to delete.
- Tap Unsend from the options that will pop up.
- A confirmation message will appear with the message: Unsend. Tap on that.
- With the above technique, note that you can only delete or unsend messages that were made by you.
- If you no longer want to see a message from a particular person (you’re not the sender), your only option is to delete the entire thread of conversation (see instructions in the previous section). Still, know that the message is merely deleted from your end and not from the original source (the sender).
- When you unsend a message (from you), other people will no longer be able to see it. However, there’s a chance that other recipients of the message have already seen your message before you removed it.
Taking Control of Your Instagram Direct Messages
As you can see, it’s quite easy to delete a message on Instagram. And if you’re the creator of the message or thread, you are in control of it and can delete it entirely (for everyone). You can also delete a sent message (if you change your mind about it) by unsending it – thereby deleting that particular message from the conversation.
In Instagram, each user has total control over posts and messages that one creates. So, your control is limited to your own posts and messages as other users have total control over theirs.